March Column

Top 10 Ways to Avoid Going to Court


Nearly half of the charges heard in district court could be avoided if people were more aware of some specific laws in Kentucky.


Finding out that you’ve broken a law you have never heard of is more than a little frustrating. Ironically, many of these laws that people are unaware of or consider minor offenses could result in jail time. Most of these laws do not combat serious crimes that threaten the lives of others, but are simply procedures that allow our society to maintain order. Others seem like minor offenses, but could lead to serious traffic accidents.


Some of Kentucky’s simplest laws lead to court appearances and force some people to pay high fines and possibly spend time in jail. 


Therefore, here are my Top 10 Ways to Avoid Court, save a lot of time and money and eliminate the possibility of jail time:

10. Buying and selling a vehicle. When buying or selling a car, KRS 186.190 outlines the correct procedure to ensure that the title is properly transferred. Take three items to the county clerk’s office: the title, an affidavit of the transfer and proof of insurance. The seller should bring the title. On the back of the title is an affidavit to transfer the title. Both buyer and seller must sign the affidavit, with both signatures being notarized. The buyer also must show proof of insurance for the vehicle to be purchased. This will ensure that the seller will no longer be charged for taxes on the vehicle and that the title is legally in the buyer’s name. Failure to do so is considered a Class A misdemeanor punishable by a $500 fine and/or 12 months in jail. 

9. Junking a vehicle. If a vehicle is unfit for future use or junked, the owner of the vehicle should take the registration and license plate to the county clerk. The county clerk will return the plates and registration to the Transportation Cabinet, so that future taxes will not be owed on the vehicle. Failure of the vehicle owner to follow these procedures is a violation of KRS 186.190. This Class A misdemeanor is punishable by a $500 fine and/or up to 12 months in jail. 

8. Wear your seat belt. In January 2007, Kentucky enacted a primary seat belt law, meaning people can be pulled over and cited for not wearing their seat belts. Even so, Kentucky’s seat belt usage rate is still below the national average of states having primary seat belt laws. Seat belts save lives and prevent injuries. Sixty-six percent of occupants killed in motor vehicle crashes in 2006 were not wearing seat belts. The fine for not wearing a seat belt is $25.

7. Display of registration renewal tag. All drivers must display their annual renewal tag on their license plates. They also must keep a copy of their registration receipts in their vehicle at all times. Failure to do so is a violation, which carries a fine of $250 to $500. 
6. Change of address of driver’s license. After moving to a new residence, KRS 186.540 requires a person to change the address on his or her driver’s license at the circuit clerk’s office within 10 days. Those moving into Kentucky from another state have 30 days after establishing residency in Kentucky to apply for a Kentucky license with the circuit court in the county in which they reside. Failure to change address in the timeframe allotted could result in a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum of 90 days in jail and/or a $250 maximum fine.

5. Change of name on driver’s license. Likewise, KRS 186.540 also applies to those changing their name after marriage. The law provides that the name on their driver’s license should be changed within 10 days by going to the circuit clerk’s office to request the change. Failure to do so is a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by a maximum of 90 days in jail and/or a $250 maximum fine.

4. Never drive without your driver’s license. Those who drive without a license are in violation of KRS 186.510 and can be charged with a Class B misdemeanor. If that person can prove that he or she had been issued a license before the offense, the judge can dismiss the charges without a fine or imprisonment. 

3. Carry proof of insurance in vehicle. Always carry proof of vehicle insurance and registration in your vehicle. Driving without liability insurance is a crime punishable by a fine up to $1,000 and/or up to 90 days in jail, according to KRS 304.39-080.  If the owner can prove that he or she had liability insurance at the time of the offense, but couldn’t show proof of it at the time, the judge can opt to reduce or dismiss the charges.  Subsequent offenses increase the penalties and require the defendant to purchase a six-month policy in advance and provide proof to the court.

2. Obey traffic signals and signs. Drivers should come to a complete stop at STOP signs. Also, a yellow light does not give the driver authority to speed up. Slow down at yellow lights, anticipating the stop once the light turns red. Failure to regard traffic lights and signs is a violation carrying a $20 to $100 fine for the first offense.

1. Take your time; don’t speed.  Most people speed because they are in a hurry to get somewhere. However, speeding saves the driver only minimal time. For example, in a 20-mile drive, a driver speeding 10 miles per hour over the speed limit would get to his or her destination 3 minutes earlier than if he or she did not speed. So, even if you are running late, speeding will not save enough time to make a big difference. More important, speeding is a factor in 30 percent of fatal accidents in our nation. 

Following these laws is not difficult. It just takes a little forethought to save yourself a lot of frustration and a day in court.

